Top Ten Tuesday | Poetry & Verse Novels

Untitled design (8)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl, where book bloggers are invited to share their top ten lists centered on a certain theme.

April is right around the corner, and it’s National Poetry Month, so today I’m sharing some of my favorite books of poetry and novels in verse! Books in verse are always super popular at my library so I’m always on the lookout for new ones.


My Top ten
1. Muted
  1. Muted by Tami Charles: This is one of my recent favorite YA novels in verse! If you liked Tiffany D. Jackson’s Grown, you’ll love this one!
2. Turtle Under Ice

2. Turtle Under Ice by Juleah del Rosario: I love that this YA contemporary in verse has Filipino rep, and it’s such a beautiful, emotional story about sisterhood and grief.

3. Chlorine Sky

3. Chlorine Sky by Mahogany L. Browne: This one was such a compelling story of girlhood, friendship, sisterhood, and identity that will stick with readers for a long time.

4. Somebody Give This Heart a Pen

4. Somebody Give This Heart a Pen by Sophia Thakur: This gorgeous book of poetry is by a spoken word artist, and was so moving! I read through it in one sitting because I couldn’t get enough of Sophia’s voice.

5. Every Body Looking

5. Every Body Looking by Candice Iloh: I love listening to novels in verse on audio, and this was a recent favorite! It’s a story of identity, self, sexuality, and the body.

6. The Black Flamingo

6. The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta: This YA contemporary follows a mixed-race Black teen discovering his sexuality in London. I loved this one on audio, too!

7. We Belong

7. We Belong by Cookie Hiponia Everman: I’m always looking for Filipino rep, and I love that this middle grade novel blended in Filipino folklore with a story of family. Perfect for fans of Erin Entrada Kelly!

8. Other Words for Home

8. Other Woods for Home by Jasmine Warga: Another favorite middle grade novel in verse, this one follows a young girl who moves from Syria to the US. I really liked this one on audio!

9. The Moon Within

9. The Moon Within by Aida Salazar: I absolutely loved this novel in verse set in Oakland that deals with identity, family, friendship, and menstruation (a topic we need to see more of in MG & YA!).

10. Clap When You Land

10. Clap When You Land by Elizabeth Acevedo: Would this list be complete without an Elizabeth Acevedo novel?! I love her newest YA novel in verse, and I already can’t wait for more from her.


What are some of your favorite poetry collections or books in verse?


Happy reading! (1)

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | Poetry & Verse Novels

  1. I didn’t know there were so many! I’m not sure if I’d like a novel in verse, but I’m glad it’s an option for people that like them!

    Like

  2. These look awesome! I got to know recently that April is Poetry month, and I’m all agog for it. Didn’t know there were “novels in verse” out there. Thanks, will look for these. ~Lex

    Like

  3. Thank you for the list!!! I recently found my love for novels in verse and I needed more. This is so timely! I love listening to novels in verse while following along in the book. What a great list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply to brookelorren Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s