Top Ten Tuesday | Most Anticipated Releases

Untitled design (8)

Note: I am an affiliate of Bookshop.org and will receive a small commission if you choose to purchase via the links in this post. This is a way to support indie bookstores & the work I put into this blog! It’s appreciated, but never expected.


Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl, where book bloggers are invited to share their top ten lists centered on a certain theme.

This week’s theme is ‘most anticipated releases for the first half of 2023’ and let me tell you, it was hard to narrow it down to ten! There are so many exciting releases this year and I can’t wait to dive into them.

My Top ten
  1. The Wicked Bargain by Gabe Cole Novoa: Anyone else getting Our Flag Means Death vibes from the synopsis of this YA fantasy starring a Latinx nonbinary pirate? I’m really hoping Vico Ortiz will narrate the audiobook!

2. She is a Haunting by Trang Thanh Tran: Horror is one of the most popular genres at my library, and I’m always on the lookout for YA horror by authors of color! This one has queer Asian rep, and is pitched as being perfect for fans of Mexican Gothic.

3. Ander & Santi Were Here by Jonny Garza Villa: Okay, can we talk about this cover? It is absolutely stunning (and super queer!) and makes me want to pick it up immediately.

4. Where You See Yourself by Claire Forrest: A YA novel with wheelchair rep? Heck yes! I can’t wait to read this one.

5. No Boy Summer by Amy Spalding: I’ve really enjoyed Amy’s previous books, The Summer of Jordi Perez (And the Best Burger in Los Angeles) and We Used to Be Friends, and am excited for another queer YA contemporary!

6. Chasing Pacquiao by Rod Pulido: I’ve been following Rod’s publication journey on Twitter for a long time and have been eagerly awaiting this book since I first saw him tweet about it! It’s about a queer Filipino-American teen and I. Cannot. Wait.

7. I’m Not Supposed to Be in the Dark by Riss M. Neilson: Speaking of Filipino-American rep, here’s another one I can’t wait for! I enjoyed this author’s 2022 debut, Deep in Providence, and am excited to check this one out.

8. The Secret Summer Promise by Keah Brown: Okay, Keah Brown is the coolest and I was so excited to hear she was releasing a YA novel with cerebral palsy rep! Plus the cover is too cute.

9. Forever Is Now by Mariama J. Lockington: I really liked Mariama’s middle grade novels, For Black Girls Like Me and In the Key of Us, and am really looking forward to her first YA book! Plus, I’m a sucker for a floral cover.

10. The Dos and Donuts of Love by Adiba Jaigirdar: Adiba is one of my favorite authors and I’m so ready for another queer romcom from her!


What are some of your most anticipated 2023 releases?


Happy reading! (1)

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday | Most Anticipated Releases

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s