Top Ten Tuesday | Recent Favorites

Untitled design (8)

Note: I am an affiliate of Bookshop.org and will receive a small commission if you choose to purchase via the links in this post. This is a way to support indie bookstores & the work I put into this blog! It’s appreciated, but never expected.


Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl, where book bloggers are invited to share their top ten lists centered on a certain theme.

This is my first TTT post in a while, so this week I wanted to share some recent favorites! These are books I’ve read and loved in the last few months.

My Top ten
  1. This Place is Still Beautiful by XiXi Tian: This YA contemporary about two biracial Asian-American sisters dealing with the aftermath of a racist attack was utterly moving!

2. Queen of the Tiles by Hanna Alkaf: I know nothing about Scrabble but listened to this audiobook on a whim and loved it!

3. Breathe and Count Back From Ten by Natalia Sylvester: One of the best YA contemporaries I’ve read all year, this novel is about a Latina girl with hip dysplasia and is a must-read.

4. The Lesbiana’s Guide to Catholic School by Sonora Reyes: This queer YA debut has such a strong sense of voice! I cannot wait for more from this author.

5. The Ghosts of Rose Hill by R.M. Romero: This YA book in verse about a biracial Jewish girl falling in love with a ghost while she restores a Jewish cemetery seriously blew me away. As a biracial Jewish reader myself, I absolutely fell in love with the protagonist and her story.

6. The Summer of Bitter and Sweet by Jen Ferguson: A moving coming-of-age novel starring an Indigenous teen as she explores her identity, family secrets, and her sexuality.

7. The Black Girls Left Standing by Juliana Goodman: A perfect readalike for The Hate U Give or Tyler Johnson Was Here, this one explores police brutality, sisterhood, and art.

8. Rima’s Rebellion by Margarita Engle: A historical novel in verse set in Cuba that follows Rima from age 12 into her teen years. I enjoyed this one way more than I expected!

9. Nothing Burns as Bright as You by Ashley Woodfolk: An incendiary story of love & friendship between two queer Black girls. This verse novel is unforgettable!

10. Shine On, Luz Véliz! by Rebecca Balcárcel: This middle grade novel about sisterhood, friendship, and discovering new dreams was so sweet & heartwarming!


What are some of your recent favorites?


Happy reading! (1)

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | Recent Favorites

  1. Great list! I haven’t read any of these but a few of them are on my TBR and they sound fantastic. I’m particularly looking forward to reading The Summer of Bitter and Sweet and This Place Is Still Beautiful 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s