Top Ten Tuesday | Read-a-likes for your favorite movie or show

ttt-big2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl, where book bloggers are invited to share their top ten lists centered on a certain theme.

This week’s theme is all about book-to-movies! Since I already did a post recently about books I want to see as movies, I decided to take this one in a different direction!  Since I’m a Teen Services Librarian, I always try to think of books I could recommend to teens based on what their favorite show or movie is. 

Here’s my top ten read-a-likes for your favorite movie or show!

 

if you like.png1. If you like Stranger Things, try reading The Devouring Gray by Christine Lynn Herman

The town of Four Paths has secrets, much like Hawkins. This book is spooky, twisted, dark, and reality-bending. It’s guaranteed to give you Stranger Things vibes!

 

Check out The Devouring Gray by Christine Lynn Herman on Goodreads!

 


 

if you like2. If you like This Is Us, try reading Far From the Tree by Robin Benway

Both deal with complex families, emotions, adoption, and race. Much like This Is Us, Far From the Tree is also centereed around three very different siblings. 

 

 

Check out Far From the Tree by Robin Benway on Goodreads!

 


 

if you like (1).png3. If you like Tiny House Hunters, try reading The House That Lou Built by Mae Respicio

This book was such a cute look at building a tiny house and it was such a charming coming-of-age story! Definitely a refreshing read for anyone who loves tiny houses. This middle grade novel also has own-voices Filipino rep and takes place in San Francisco!

 

Check out The House That Lou Built by Mae Respicio on Goodreads!

 


 

if you like (2).png4. If you like Game of Thrones, try reading The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

Love Game of Thrones and looking to try YA? The Cruel Prince has a high fantasy setting, political storylines, strong female characters, bloodshed, and is all about a fight for the crown! This is a great series for readers who are new to YA, because it incorporates mature themes that will be reminiscent for fans of the adult fantasy genre. 

 

Check out The Cruel Prince by Holly Black on Goodreads!

 


 

 

if you like (3).png5. If you like The Martian, try reading The Loneliest Girl in the Universe by Lauren James

If you loved The Martian and have already read the book it’s based on, your next read should definitely be The Loneliest Girl in the Universe! This YA sci-fi novel follows a teenaged girl alone on a spaceship as she tries to survive and navigate through the sky. It tackles space, loneliness, and science in similar ways but through a YA lens!

 

Check out The Loneliest Girl in the Universe by Lauren James on Goodreads!

 


 

if you like (5).png6. If you like The Craft, try reading Undead Girl Gang by Lily Anderson

If you love the 90s cult classic The Craft, then Undead Girl Gang is perfect for you! It’s a fun, 90s vibe YA contemporary about a witchy girl squad. It’s about female friendship and it will totally make you nostalgic for those 90s teen movies!

 

Check out Undead Girl Gang by Lily Anderson on Goodreads!

 


 

 

if you like (6).png7. If you like Avengers Endgame, try reading America, Vol. 1: The Life and Times of America Chavez by Gabby Rivera & Joe Quiñones

Devastated after watching Avengers Endgame and in need of another dose of Marvel? Meet America Chavez! This comic series is POC-centered and has several character tie-ins to the Avengers! I’m so excited to see more women of color in comics and I’m hoping to read this one soon.

 

Check out America by Gabby Rivera & Joe Quiñones on Goodreads!

 


 

if you like (7).png8. If you like Star Wars, try reading Mirage by Somaiya Daud

Fans of the Star Wars franchise will love Mirage! This sci-fi fantasy novel involves an evil empire, a resistance, and fierce female characters, plus a hint of romance! It’s about rebels fighting for their freedom and culture. 

 

Check out Mirage by Somaiya Daud on Goodreads!

 


 

if you like (8).png9. If you like Riverdale, try reading All of This Is True by Lygia Day Peñaflor

Just like Riverdale, this YA contemporary is full of drama, mystery, and plot twists! This novel is also told in text messages, emails, and other mixed-media which makes it such a fun read! Teens are always coming into my library and asking for books like Riverdale, and mysteries like this one are always a big hit!

 

Check out All of This Is True by Lygia Day Peñaflor on Goodreads!

 


 

if you like (9).png10. If you like Buffy the Vampire Slayer, try reading When Life Gives You Demons by Jennifer Honeybourn

If you didn’t already know, I’m a HUGE Buffy the Vampire Slayer fan, so I had to include a read-a-like for Buffy on this list! When Life Gives You Demons is about a teen girl training to be an exorcist and is all about keeping a secret when you have a supernatural calling and are just trying to be a normal teen! The humor felt so reminiscent of Buffy and I’m so here for that.

 

Check out When Life Gives You Demons by Jennifer Honeybourn on Goodreads!


 

 

What book reminds you of your favorite movie or TV show?

 

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | Read-a-likes for your favorite movie or show

  1. I loved your take on this topic! I read The Cruel Prince and I liked it, but I’m still in season 2 of Game of Thrones. I loooove Star Wars and I own an Owlcrate copy of Mirage, so I’ll definitely give it a try soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s