It’s Monday! What are you reading? August 20, 2018

“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly meme hosted by Book Date. The folks at Teacher Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given #IMWAYR a new lens by focusing on books for kids & teens. Check out their blogs to see what they’re reading!

I use #IMWAYR mostly to organize my reading list for the week and set out my book goals.

WHAT I READ LAST WEEK:

 

WHAT I’M EXCITED TO READ THIS WEEK:

 

375064371Darius the Great is Not Okay by Adib Khorram

This book is out next week, and I’ve already heard so many amazing things! I was already super interested after hearing multiple people describe it as a good read-alike for “Simon VS. the Homo Sapiens Agenda,” and the LOTR and Star Trek references in the summary are enough to hook me. I love stories that deal with mental health, queerness, family, and how complicated cultural identity can be for some. I haven’t read many YA books featuring Persian characters/culture, so I’m excited about that rep. I’m also obsessed with that gorgeous cover art!

So many Goodreads reviewers call this one a tear-jerker, so I’ll have to remember to finish it while I’m at home. I learned my lesson after finishing Adam Silvera’s “They Both Die At the End” during my lunch at work and subsequently crying in the break room. At least I work in a library, so a good book is a socially acceptable reason to be crying at work.

 

348103201Sadie by Courtney Summers

After reading “The Cheerleaders” by Kara Thomas, I’ve been really in the mood for YA mysteries/thrillers. “Sadie” has been one of my most anticipated reads and has received so many great reviewers. I love books that have excerpts of scripts, emails, or other media, and I’m so interested to read the podcast excerpts in this one since I haven’t seen that in YA before.

I love that Sadie is a girl who fights and seeks out clues to bring her sister justice when no one else will. Vengeance stories are the best, and this one kind of gives me “The Female of the Species” vibes, which I’m so here for. I really hope I get to this one this week and that it lives up to the hype! If you’ve already read “Sadie” please let me know what you thought, and if you’ve read any of Courtney Summers’s other novels.

 

What are you planning to read this week?

 

17 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading? August 20, 2018

  1. I’ve got both Sadie and The Cheerleaders on my TBR. And I have read This Is Not A Test by Courtney Summers, and the sequel novella- they were fantastic, and made me an instant fan. 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ve heard so many good things about Sadie. I hope you enjoy it. I passed over getting a review copy of The Cheerleaders because I didn’t know it was a mystery. I’ll have to add it to my wishlist. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

    Like

  3. I’m going to HAVE to get Darius the Great into my daughter’s hands. She just finished Simon VS. the Homo Sapiens Agenda and LOVED it. She’s looking for a new read right now, so this is a pretty great time. Thanks for all the shares this week, Ari!

    Like

    1. Reading Pride by Ibi Zoboi was a really interesting experience for me because I’ve actually never read Pride & Prejudice (surprising, especially since I was an English major in college!). I didn’t really know what to expect going in, but that kind of made it fun. Hope you get to read it soon!

      Like

    1. Yes, Fall really is perfect for thrillers! I think Sadie & The Cheerleaders would pair really well together, especially since they’re both about sisterhood and seeking justice, but with two very different vibes.

      Like

  4. Hahaha – now I know that working in the library makes it acceptable to cry while at work. I am stacking the Darius title – and will definitely be on the lookout for that one. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s