TBR Lows & Highs | January 3, 2019

3

TBR Highs & Lows is a meme hosted by Destiny at Howling Libraries(one of my favorite book blogs!), where bloggers feature the books at the bottom of their TBRs (the “lows”) and highlight new additions to the list (the “highs”). Visit Howling Libraries for more info if you’re interested in participating!

1

Here’s some of the books at the bottom of my TBR (but that I still want to read!):

Untitled design (7)

Your Own Worst Enemy by Gordon Jack
This YA contemporary about a high school election has gotten some great reviews, and it sounds like such a fun read.

Bizarre Romance by Audrey Niffenegger & Eddie Campbell
Audrey Niffenegger is one of my favorite authors (I love how twisted, weird, & masterfully crafted her writing is) and I’ve been meaning to pick this one up all year.

We’ll Fly Away by Bryan Bliss
A story told partially in letters from death row about two best friends that explores poverty and abuse. I love that this one deals with friendship between two boys, which is a subject I’d love to see more of in YA.

(Don’t) Call Me Crazy edited by Kelly Jensen
How have I not read this anthology about mental health (edited by a teen-librarian-turned-writer!)? I’m super excited to read this one and just haven’t had the time, but I’m hoping to finally get to it in 2019!

The Universe Is Expanding and So Am I by Carolyn Mackler

The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things was one of the earliest YA books I read in 5th or 6th grade, and I know visiting Virginia & Froggy will fill me with happy nostalgia.

2

Here’s what I’ve added to my TBR recently:

Untitled design (6)

Kiss Number 8 by Colleen A. F. Venable & Ellen T. Crenshaw
Release date: March 12, 2019
A queer graphic novel all about terrible kisses (but hopefully some good ones?).

All of Us With Wings by Michelle Ruiz Keil
Release date: June 18, 2019
This #OwnVoices novel is a mythology-inspired fairy tale set in post-punk San Francisco, starring a Latinx governess of a rock star family. Plus, it has an illustrated cover that has pretty much stolen my heart.

Technically, You Started It by Lana Wood Johnson
Release date: June 25, 2019
A YA contemporary romance about mistaken identities, meet-cutes, and falling in love through a screen (some of my favorite things to read about!).

The Boy and Girl Who Broke the World by Amy Reed
Release date: July 9, 2019
Amy’s last novel, The Nowhere Girls, quickly became a favorite for me and I’m so excited to read her next one about two loner teens thrown together & being forced to cope with everything around them.

Me Myself & Him by Christopher Tebbetts
Release date: July 9, 2019
A YA novel with a queer protagonist that explores fate and alternate timelines? I’m super curious about this one (especially since it sounds like it could be a good read-a-like for Shaun David Hutchinson fans!).

 

What have you added to your TBR recently?

2 thoughts on “TBR Lows & Highs | January 3, 2019

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s